Archiving and reusing your content

By default, all segments in Anchor are available for listeners to hear for 24 hours. The app uses this format to ensure that your listeners are always hearing your latest, most relevant content. But! This doesn't mean you can't preserve or recycle your segments. Here's how this all works:

Archiving

You can archive your station at any time, to save all the active segments in your station forever. There are two ways to do this:
  1. Archive manually. From your profile within the Anchor app, tap the archive icon next to "Current Station." You'll see a "Station Archives" section appear below your current station. You can do this as often as you'd like, and your archives will automatically be sorted by date.
  2. Archive automatically. From your profile, tap the menu icon (•••) in the top right corner and select "Edit Profile." Scroll down and toggle on the option to auto-archive your station. As long as this is on, the app will automatically save your active station every day at midnight EST.
Important note: if you delete a segment from your active station, it will delete it from your archives (and vice versa). Be careful!

Using Archived Content

Once a segment is archived, you can add it back into your station as often as you'd like. (This is especially helpful for things like theme songs or sound effects which you may want to use often.) Just tap the segment from your Station Archives, which will bring you into playback for that segment. Tap the "add to station" button and it'll add it into your current station.

You can also export your archived stations. Next to the relevant date in your Station Archives, tap the menu icon (•••) and select "Export." This will email you an audio file of the entire archive for that date. From there, you're welcome to do whatever you want with that audio file! Edit it into shorter clips, turn it into a podcast, put it on your website, whatever you need.

Feedback and Knowledge Base